Project Description


Betong is a town and administrative district of the Betong Division in Sarawak, Malaysia, lying in the Saribas area. It used to be placed under the district of Sri Aman. Betong division is located between three main rivers, Batang Lupar, Batang Saribas and Batang Kelaka, covering an area of 4,180 km2. By October 2011, the population was nearly 94,000, the majority being Ibans (51,290), followed by Malays (37,283), Chinese (5,084), Bidayuh (225), and Melanau (219), while the remaining are other races. In recognition of Betong’s rich history, rapid growth and contribution to Sarawak’s economy, it was accorded Division status in 2002. It was then selected to become the administrative division centre.